Matthew, Wheelers Hill tutor in Maths (between years 7-...




+ service fee


hours logged

Teaching ability:  
10 ratings


last rated 14th Oct '16

Matthew has managed to restore my ability to enjoy Maths. He goes that extra mile, and takes pride in tutoring, and making sure that I understand.

  • Speciality:

    Maths (between years 7-12), VCE Specialist Maths and Maths Methods

  • Education: Studying Mechatronic Engineering, University of Melbourne
  • Location: Wheelers Hill (Online only due to COVID-19 pandemic)
  • First Lesson Guarantee:
    if unsatisfied, there's no charge view
  • Background Check: yes, I have one (available on request)
  • Can Speak: English

My Experience

I have previously tutored two boys in my school, St. Kevin's College while they were in years 8-10. Before I started tutoring them, they were achieving about 70% in their tests and exams as opposed to when they finished their time with me, they achieved an average score of 90%.

How I'd Tutor You

I am quite a relaxed tutor who loves to help and share with people what I know. My philosophy is simple. The tutor is simply a guide who assists the student in solving the problem. Spoon feeding the student the answer will not help them learn and understand the problem that they just solved. Generally my lessons will flow in a certain path. The first half will be spent visiting current maths problems and fixing them. The second half will be spent moving ahead so that you are ahead of the game.

A little bit more about me

I am 21 years old and am in my first year at Melbourne University, studying to become a Mechatronic Engineer. I went to school at St. Kevin's College where I achieved a VCE score in the top 10% of the state.