Abigail, Carlton tutor in French, Italian, English Lite...

Abigail

Duckham

$40/hr

+ service fee

0

hours logged

Knowledge:  
Teaching ability:  
Reliability:  
Waiting for my first rating...

Reviews

joined 6 months ago

A review, a review!
My kingdom for a review!

Richard III, 22nd Aug 1485
  • Speciality:

    French, Italian, English Literature and English Language

  • Education: BA (Hons) in French and Italian from the University of Cambridge (2:i) view
  • Location: Carlton (can travel to you)
  • First Lesson Guarantee:
    if unsatisfied, there's no charge view
  • Background Check: no, I don't have one
  • Can Speak: French, Italian, English

My Experience

I have always had an interest in teaching; whilst doing my A-levels I set up a French club for younger students. After finishing my undergraduate degree in June 2018, I spent my summer in the UK tutoring GCSE ( students age 14-16) English Language and Literature.

How I'd Tutor You

In teaching languages, I focus primarily on transmitting an understanding of grammar to students, as I believe this to be one of the key elements for achieving fluency. I would then focus on translation, reading comprehension and developing conversational ability, and I can also help students develop essay-writing skills and critical thinking skills. I am happy to tailor my tutoring to the individual, and go beyond exam board curricula (or work within them) as needs be.

A little bit more about me

I love grammar (the main focus of my degree was Romance linguistics) so steer me away from that topic if you find yourself going glassy-eyed! I love cycling and can get to many Melbourne suburbs by bike - don't hesitate to drop me a message.